Mekong Delta homestay and bicycle tour (2 days /1 night)

In this tour, you will visit the Mekong Delta in an active way and come very close to the local population. You move by boat, bicycle and on foot through the most beautiful part of the Mekong Delta, cook together with the locals, and stay in a homestay in the middle of the Mekong jungle.

Highlights

  • Explore the side stream of the Mekong by motor boat and rowing boat
  • Visit the traditional workshops such as coconut processing, brick kilns, straw weaving, etc
  • Bike tour through the palm forests on small side streets (total 15 km, flat and shady)
  • Preparation of dinner with a local family (green papaya salad, chicken with lemon grass)
  • Simple overnight in a homestay

Home | Similar tours | All tours

MEKONG DELTA HOMESTAY

Saigon – Ben Tre – Saigon

 

Day 1: Saigon - Mekong Delta homestay (breakfast, lunch, dinner)
Your driver at Hotel in Saigon pick you up at 8: 00 and will take you to Ben Tre (journey time approx. 2. 5 h), where your local guide waiting for you. Small page channels via motor boat and rowboat, you pass on idyllic palm groves in always densely overgrown area. You get on the bike and take a bicycle tour through the Palm forest past local houses and villages (approximately 10 km on page paths). Visit the House of Mr. Khanh, who shows his collection of antique enthusiastic guests and demonstrating how you climb on coconut palms there. You eat at a local restaurant on the banks of the river and enjoy the elephant ear fish, a local delicacy. In the afternoon you explore Mekong Delta further on foot, bicycle, motor boat, and tuk-tuk. The evening will bring you to your homestay, a house in the middle of the Palm forest. Together with the host family, help to prepare the traditional local dishes and enjoy the food to the large table.
Accommodation: Homestay with local family (basic accommodation)

 

Day 2: Mekong Delta - Saigon (breakfast, lunch)
After breakfast at the homestay, explore the surroundings by bicycle. Your guide takes you to the local market in a neighbouring village, where you can watch the bustling hustle and bustle of the local population. By boat, drive through tributaries and visit other workshops of the traditional processing of coconuts. A further boat ride back to Ben Tre your Mekong adventure ends. Your driver resumes in reception and will return to your hotel in Saigon (journey time approx. 2.5 hours).

 

 

 

Preis 2017: CHF 360 pro Person → zur price overview

 

Included in the price:

  • Private transport from Saigon to Ben Tre
  • English speaking tour guide from the region (German on request)
  • Meals as specified in the detailed programme
  • Homestay with a local family
  • Usual tip for tour guide / driver

 

Not included

  • International flights
  • Visa fees
  • Personal expenses for drinks / snacks in between

Mekong Delta Homestay und Velotour (2 Tage, 1 Nacht)

In dieser Tour besuchen Sie das Mekong Delta auf eine aktive Weise und kommen der Lokalbevölkerung sehr nahe. Sie bewegen sich mit Boot, Velo und zu Fuss durch den schönsten Teil des Mekong Deltas, kochen zusammen mit den Einheimischen und übernachten in einem Homestay mitten im Mekong-Dschungel.

Die Highlights:

  • Tour mit Motor- und Ruderbooten durch die Seitenkanäle des Mekongs
  • Besuch von traditionellen Werstätten wie Kokosnussverarbeitung, Backsteinbrennöfen, Strohweberei etc
  • Velotour durch den Wald auf kleinen Seitengassen (total ca. 15 km, flach und schattig)
  • Zubereitung des Abendessens bei einer einheimischen Familie (grüner Papaya-Salat, Poulet mit Zitronengras)
  • Einfache Übernachtung in einem Homestay

Zurück zum Start  |  Ähnliche Touren  |  Alle Touren

MEKONG DELTA HOMESTAY

Saigon – Ben Tre – Saigon

 

Tag 1: Saigon – Mekong Delta Homestay (Frühstück, Mittagessen, Abendessen)
 Um 8 Uhr holt Sie ihr Fahrer im Hotel in Saigon ab und bringt Sie nach Ben Tre (Fahrzeit ca. 2.5h), wo Ihr lokaler Guide auf Sie wartet. Per Motorboot und Ruderboot fahren Sie auf kleinen Seitenkanälen vorbei an idyllischen Palmhainen in immer dichter bewachsenes Gebiet. Sie steigen um auf das Velo und machen eine Fahrradtour durch den Palmenwald vorbei an lokalen Häusern und Dörfern (ca. 10 Kilometer auf Seitenwegen). Sie besuchen dabei das Haus von Mr. Khanh, welcher den Gästen enthusiastisch seine Antiquitätensammlung zeigt und demonstriert, wie man auf Kokospalmen klettert. Sie essen in einem lokalen Restaurant am Flussufer und geniessen Elefantenohrfisch, eine lokale Delikatesse. Am Nachmittag erkunden Sie das Mekong Delta weiter zu Fuss, Velo, Motorboot und Tuk-Tuk. Gegen Abend werden Sie zu Ihrem Homestay gebracht, einem Haus mitten im Palmenwald. Zusammen mit der Gastfamilie helfen Sie, die traditionellen lokalen Gerichte zuzubereiten und geniessen das Nachessen am grossen Tisch.
Übernachtung: Homestay bei lokaler Familie (einfache Unterkunft)

 

Tag 2: Mekong Delta – Saigon (Frühstück, Mittagessen)
Nach dem Frühstück im Homestay erkunden Sie die Umgebung mit dem Fahrrad. Ihr Guide führt Sie zum lokalen Markt in einem benachbarten Dorf, wo Sie das emsige Treiben der Lokalbevölkerung beobachten können. Per Boot fahren Sie durch Nebenflüsse und besuchen weitere Werkstätten zur traditionellen Verarbeitung der Kokosnüsse. Nach einer weiteren Bootsfahrt zurück nach Ben Tre endet Ihr Mekong-Abenteuer. Ihr Fahrer nimmt Sie wieder in Empfang und fährt zurück zu Ihrem Hotel in Saigon (Fahrzeit ca. 2.5h).

 

 

 

Preis 2017: CHF 360 pro Person → zur Preisübersicht

 

Im Preis inbegriffen:

  • Privattransport von Saigon nach Ben Tre
  • Englischsprachiger Tourguide aus der Region (Deutsch auf Anfrage)
  • Mahlzeiten wie im Detailprogramm angegeben
  • Unterkunft bei einer lokalen Familie
  • Übliches Trinkgeld für Reiseführer / Fahrer

 

Nicht inbegriffen

  • Internationale Flüge
  • Visumsgebühren
  • Persönliche Auslagen für Getränke / Snacks zwischendurch